Harlan’s Legacy in Me

“You CAN change the world! You CAN be Zorro!”

Stephen King may have been the author who inspired me to want to write; and James Joyce may have been the one to show me how much you could get away with as long as your audience remains willing to follow you there; and Sherman Alexie and Francesca Lia Block may have revealed potent poetry in simple words; but Harlan Ellison showed me how to shatter this world into a million bloody fragments with love, and that make him perhaps my biggest influence in art.

“A writer must go to bed angry and wake up in the morning angry.”

I may have taken that wisdom to extremes at times; there’s no question, though, that his sentiments galvanize me when all other methods fail.

About Satyr

Award-winning fantasy author, game-designer, and all 'round creative malcontent. Creator of a whole bunch of stuff, most notably the series Mage: The Ascension, Deliria: Faerie Tales for a New Millennium, and Powerchords: Music, Magic & Urban Fantasy. Lives in Seattle. Hates shoes. Loves cats. Dances a lot.
This entry was posted in Art, My Work, Spirituality & Reflection, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment